The circle of anger and a moment of silence!

Yet another week has passed in the new year and I have done nothing- just like last year!! Nothing seems to have changed- except for an overflowing gallery of happy new year images and the new calendars!!

Now let me plunge into the miserable day I had this week! I had to go to far-off place and I was in no mood to drive…. So, I had to take the public transport… As I have already stated in one of my previous posts- Roller Coaster Ride @30, I had a thrashing two hour journey in a worn out bus… When I planned to return home, I repeated the “thrash”process.

Like most other passengers, I politely inquired the driver,”When will you start?”. I was silenced with a bark from the driver, “Can’t you see that I have come just now?”. I was already worn out because of the journey and these words sent me to my boiling point. I was on the verge of screaming at him.

But…. I didn’t! I did not even glare at him!

I tried to step in his shoes and look at this situation…I have been travelling only for two hours .. but, he must have been driving the whole day! He must have been worn out too!

Or worse, he might have been reprimanded by some higher official to whom he couldn’t have returned the insult….

Moreover what am I gonna do by returning his jibe or carrying it forward to others?

I thought I should stop this circle of anger which was started by someone else by using a moment of silence!

Many of us would have taken various new year resolutions this year… along with those let us take one more….

Let us stop the circle of anger by stepping into the other person’s shoe by using just a moment of silence!

“There is too little in life to be serious about it” says Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni in her bookPalace of Illusions”

I have planned to take this up.. What about you?

2 thoughts on “The circle of anger and a moment of silence!

Leave a comment