A different perspective of the epic!

😍😍

Hey all! Hope you are coping with quarantine in the best productive way! Since I have time to spare now, I thought I could review my favourite books!
I have always been interested in the genre of mythology- maybe because I grew up listening to all those stories from my grandparents… The recent boom in mythology gives us different perspectives of the same story.
This novel- Sita’s Sister by Kavita Kané helped me getter a better insight of the character Urmila- the one who was left alone in the palace of Ayodhya so that her husband Lakshman could fulfill his duty of protecting his brother. The novel beautifully says how she copes with his absence with the help of the love and bonding between them. We can also see that it is infact Urmila who is the thread who holds them all together- the irate Kausalya, the cold Mandavi, the penitent Kaikeyi, the apoplectic Bharat and the sensible Kirti. She doesn’t lose herself to the grief; she concentrates on better things and improves those around her. She becomes the pillar of support in the family which is shattered by the sudden turn of events. She is abandoned by the two people she loves the most- Sita and Lakshman. Even during her childhood, she was never given the attention and appreciation which she deserved. But she refuses to give in or become passive. She still speaks her heart, as her heart overflows with love and care for her family❤️ and confidence over her judgements. We can see how she evolves beautifully as the plot proceeds.
I know I do sound objective, but isn’t that the purpose of a novel? Hats off to Kavita Kané for producing such a novel👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 The book inspired me both on literary and artistic levels- the pencil sketch on topis the cover page of the novel that I have tried to recreate!
Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “A different perspective of the epic!

Leave a comment